Unlike the incredibly outdated post on Chron’s How to Delete a Company on LinkedIn, we’ve got the CURRENT answers below to your questions on how to delete a business or company page on LinkedIn.

What LinkedIn says on deleting Company Pages:

  • LinkedIn recommends you do not remove a company or business page as the deletion of a company page can affect an associated user’s work history.
  • Since the removal of a Company Page affects the profiles of LinkedIn members, you can’t remove Company Pages with 100 or more affiliated employees.

Keep this in mind:

  • Once the Company Page is removed, the company name and email domain won’t be available for future use.
  • LinkedIn won’t remove the Company Pages of acquired companies just because a company is acquired.
  • Instead of removing a Company Page, it may be more beneficial to update the business name and additional information.
  • Changing the Company Name also changes the profile work experience for the company’s current and former employees, which can confuse Followers of the company page.

Prerequisites to deleting your Company’s Page:

  • The Company Page is currently active.
  • You are an admin of the Company Page and are currently logged in to LinkedIn.
  • The Company Page doesn’t have any affiliated Company Pages.
  • The Company Page doesn’t have a Career Page.
  • The Company Page has fewer than 100 affiliated employees.
  • The Company Page has no active ad campaigns.

How to delete/deactivate your Company Page:

  • Click the Me Icon Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.
  • Below Manage, select your Company Page.
  • Click on Admin Tools at the top of the page and click Deactivate Company Page.
  • In the pop-up window, click Deactivate to confirm removal of the Company Page. Click Cancel to cancel the deactivation.
  • You’ll receive a confirmation that your Company Page was successfully deactivated. If the Company Page couldn’t be deactivated, you’ll receive an error message.